A Scrappy Little Beginner

By ManhattansSoWrite

July 9, 2011

Category: The Personal

Comments Off on A Scrappy Little Beginner

Pardon the dust, folks. I’m just starting out in a lot of ways.

I just started this blog today, and I just started trying my hand at digital scrapbooking yesterday.

I’m basically starting this blog to chronicle how I’m learning about the art of digital scrapbooking. Considering I don’t have an artistic bone in my body and I’ve never actually tried to learn the photo-editing software I own, this should be an adventure. Oh yeah, and I’m not a huge fan of really girlie things, either. And did I mention that I have no children and neither my other half nor I tend to jump in front of cameras? Yeah, this is either going to suck or be an exercise in extreme creativity.

What started the urge to scrapbook if I don’t really have much to scrap? Probably a dose of boredom with a misplaced sense of “it can’t be that hard.” And I’m sure a lot of scrapbooking fans will want to rip my head off for that. Just remember that I realize it is very, very wrong. I’ll just be finding out how wrong over coming weeks.

Ultimately, I blame it on the Japanese earthquake in March. I’ve never been to Japan, and I didn’t know anyone in Japan. So why does it make me want to start keeping track of my memories in an overly decorative and hard-drive filling manner? When it generate a tsunami that struck Hawaii, there wasn’t hugely newsworthy damage. However, a few days ago, I found an article about one resort that has shut down indefinitely due to damage. While I never stayed there, I did attend a luau there that was a fantastic way to end my two weeks on the islands.

That got me thinking about all of the pictures and video we snagged from the luau and all over the islands. We saved them and posted a few for family on Facebook and on another blog The Other Half runs. Ultimately, I’d say we shared about 10% of what was worth sharing.

I started the process by gathering the video and cracking open iMovie. It’s a work in progress since the most resource-intensive work happens on The Other Half’s computer. Normally, this leaves me with several hours to play, but with the recent closure of his company, we now have two people looking for free entertainment online. When I complete it, I’ll share it here.

On the scrapbooking portion, I’ve already done way too much for just having started researching it a less than 36 hour ago. And that’s where this blog will pick up tomorrow…

